How to add bulk actions Google Drive

How to unshare multiple Google Drive files at once

Deleting permissions of multiple files within Google Drive can be very time-consuming. That’s why we’ve added bulk actions to our Monitoring & Reporting solution. Whether you want to delete users in bulk or want to update multiple Google Drive rights, all can be done within just a few clicks. This blog tells you how you can prevent possible data exposure with bulk actions.

Change the permissions of multiple files at once

Bulk actions offer you the superpowers to change permissions across your whole Google domain at once. They come in handy when you want to clean up your Google Drive permissions, or when you identify a specific problem with multiple files that needs to be changed. Delete users out of your Google Drive data, get rid of shares with certain domains, unshare all publicly available files or bulk change ownership of files. Just specify specific criteria, select which files should change and it’s done.

How to unshare multiple files at once within Google Drive

How to add a bulk action

The bulk action functionality can be found below ‘actions’ when you are at the Monitoring & Reporting dashboard.

By clicking on ‘bulk actions’ directly, you’ll be able to perform bulk actions for
all files on your domain. Besides that, it shows an overview of previously performed bulk actions. By going to ‘audit files’ first, you will be able to perform bulk actions on files that match specific criteria. 

Let’s use the second option as an example.

Actions within the Florbs Monitoring & Reporting dashboard

1) Select which files you want to change

To create a bulk action, you need to specify which files you want to change first. 
This can be done with the extensive search functionality. Use specific filters like location, exposure, owner or search for something specific like a title.

After running a search, you determine whether you want to change specific files or all files that match your search query.
Basically, it gives you the freedom to change almost all permissions within Google Drive: from a bulk change of all shared drive permissions to only removing external link sharing of certain users.

Search for every file that's shared publicly within your Google Workspace domain

After selecting the files, click on the upper right button ‘add bulk action’. This triggers a confirmation of which files will be changed.

The overview shows the files that are selected

2) Specify which permissions need to be changed

After clicking ‘continue’ you select which permissions you want to change. There are a lot of options. You can remove specific people or groups from all these files at once, you can change all editors to viewers or even remove all permissions. If you identified orphaned files, you can use the ‘transfer ownership’ option as well. Pick a single option or add multiple changes within one bulk action.

 
Overview of the available bulk actions

3) Multiple Google Drive permissions are changed at once

The third screen shows an overview of the action you are about to perform. After adding a description of the action you are going to perform, you can run the bulk action. This description will be saved in the list of previously performed bulk actions.

Click ‘Create’ and that’s it! You’ve unshared all files that we’re publicly accesible at once.

Create an bulk action that unshares all files that are shared with anyone with the link

Read more about Florbs:

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.